Impressionism – Mary Cassatt, Claude Monet

There were a few women artists during this time period and Mary Cassatt was one of them. Although she didn’t have any children of her own, her subjects were mostly that of the bonding between a mother and a child. Mary mostly worked indoors.

Mary Cassatt, The Bath, 1890-91 [1]

This painting is of a mother who is washing her child. As you can tell, the people of this time didn’t have running water, as the mother is giving her child a sponge bath. This painting was completed during the Impressionism and it doesn’t look fully complete. Many paintings during this time did not look complete or finished, which is why this time was given the term Impressionism. Looking at this painting from a distance looks like a photograph to me.

The painting of the boat below is the work of Claude Monet. He was known as the “Father of Impressionism”. The way he painted the painting below initiated a writer to call him an “impressionist.” The term impression eventually stuck and lend to an Impressionism time for other artists as well.

Claude Monet, Impression, Sunrise 1872  [2]

To me, the Impression, Sunrise painting by Claude Monet does in fact look like it isn’t finished yet. His use of brush strokes to complete the painting was unique. Claude Monet worked outdoors completing landscapes for majority of his paintings. When observing the painting for quite some time, it made me feel like I am in a dream or a cartoon picture.

Some of the paintings during this Impressionism time did not look complete, maybe because of the clarity of the colors or the sharpness of the painting. My favorite among all the paintings during this time, was the Impression, Sunrise by Claude Monet. It is my favorite because it takes me into a day-dream, which makes the painting unique in it’s own little way.

[1] http://robinurton.com/history/impressionism2.htm

[2] http://robinurton.com/history/impressionism.htm

About Gloria Prince

My name is Gloria Prince. I am excited to take an Art class via the internet.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Impressionism – Mary Cassatt, Claude Monet

  1. Heya just wanted to give you a quick heads up and let you know a few of the images aren’t loading properly. I’m not sure why but I
    think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different internet browsers and both show the same results.

  2. jwmaring says:

    I too relate impressionism with being in a dreamlike state, and this work by Monet certainly conveys that image as well as any from the Impressionist era. I think me and probably share a similar perspective on Impressionism; I am glad to read your post and share a similar reaction as your on such a subjective work of art.

  3. ancoldeira says:

    I just wanted to start by saying I also used Mary Cassatt in my blog! I loved her paintings! You did good at stating factual information. Although, I would like to hear how you feel about the paintings and impressionism itself. You did good at citing your sources! I do have a bit of confusion on what you are comparing impressionism too! Other than that, good job!

Leave a comment